Skip to main content

What Is Prime Central London?

also known as PCL

myleasehold|What is Prime Central London?

Which parts of London qualify as being “Prime Central” varies according to who provides the definition.

Most valuation surveyors and estate agents agree that Prime Central London includes the City of Westminster and the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea, and parts of the boroughs of Hammersmith and Fulham, and Camden.

Within this relatively small geographic area lie dozens of smaller locales, each with their own distinct character and ethos, giving London a global reputation as a cosmopolitan hotspot.

We define Prime Central London as:

  • Belgravia
  • Chelsea
  • Fitzrovia
  • Holland Park
  • Kensington
  • Knightsbridge
  • Marylebone
  • Mayfair
  • Maida Vale
  • Notting Hill
  • Pimlico
  • Regents Park
  • St John’s Wood
  • Victoria

In addition to Prime Central London, there are four other “prime” areas.

  • Prime North West London, which includes Hampstead Garden suburb and Highgate
  • Prime North London, which includes parts of Islington
  • Prime East London, which includes Wapping and Canary Wharf
  • Prime South West London, which includes Battersea, Clapham, Wandsworth, Wimbledon, Putney, Fulham, Barnes, Chiswick and Richmond

Prime Central London Map

Geographical differences aside, everyone who works in the London property market agrees that PCL includes many of the highest valued and most sought after properties in the world, in some of the grandest streets and finest squares imaginable.

View Prime Central London in a larger map